Album Review: “Making Noise” by Mitch Malloy

mm-final

I don’t know how often I’ve said this on my site, but I consider Van Halen to be one of my all-time greatest musical influences. Those of you who know Van Halen likely know the reputation of the band to be rather notorious for having numerous lead singers.

Officially these singers are David Lee Roth, Sammy Hagar, and Gary Cherone. There is another singer that I only discovered recently, however, thanks to the beauty of YouTube. After listening to a demo from the Van Halen III sessions, I was recommended a video for a song called “It’s The Right Time” that was recorded by a brilliant singer named Mitch Malloy.

I was blown away that I had never, in all my years of being obsessed with this band, known of this guy! After Sammy was booted out of the band, Mitch was actually the guy on point to do a new record with the band. For various reasons, which are detailed in the video below, Mitch chose to leave the project.

After some correspondence with Mitch, who is a super chill dude, I decided to review his most recent record Making Noise. I gotta tell you folks, the first thing that comes to mind when listening to this album is KICK ASS. The songs are pure, high-adrenaline hard rock that have soaring melodies and brilliant musicianship.

The central point of the record is Mitch’s powerful voice. It’s no wonder why Eddie Van Halen told Mitch that he was the “best fucking singer” he’d ever heard. Malloy’s tone is pristine and also aggressive, and his range is simply mind-blowing.

The songs themselves leave you in a state of euphoria that good rock n’ roll should always create. You can hear the meticulous work that Mitch put into writing Making Noise and his attention to detail shows. The production is top notch and the instruments sound fantastic.

This record is so much more than simply Making Noise. It is a proclamation that rock is still alive and well, no matter what the radio DJs (or Gene Simmons) might be saying. You are left at the end of the album feeling so damn good and it is a high that only the best rock can give you.

Get this record if you value true rock n’ roll, you won’t be disappointed.

Get Making Noise at http://www.mitchmalloy.com

11 thoughts on “Album Review: “Making Noise” by Mitch Malloy

    1. It’s funny, THAT SONG was what I was listening to! lol

      I think things worked out the way they needed to. You know I love Van Halen 3, and I think poor Mitch would’ve been given the same cruel treatment from fans that Gary got because people are stupid and can’t give new people a chance. Mitch’s solo music is so amazing, it’s honestly an honor that I got to talk to him and do this. Some days life surprises you man :).

  1. I’m a bit overwhelmed by this review. When I made this cd all by myself I joked with a friend that the only review I’d be happy with was a gushingly fantastic one so I probably won’t be reading any because no one will LOVE this cd like I want them to. I was wrong. I honestly never though I’d read these words coming from a review. And untill this cd I’ve never gotten this positive of a response. I’m beyond grateful and proud. Thank you. Mitch

    1. Mitch it’s an honor. As a composer and musician I know how hard this industry is and me doing this blog in my free time is my way of amplifying music that NEEDS to be heard.

      Everything I say here is from the heart, you have a gift my man. I am so glad that of all things a YouTube recommendation algorithm introduced me to your musical world.

      I’m glad that my words mean something, and I’m also glad that we got a chance to connect. If I told my teenage self that at age 26 I’d be talking to someone who was in Van Halen, I doubt I would’ve believed it.

      It’s easy to see what the band saw in you. But your music stands on its own. And the fact that you do everything yourself, which is how I do things also (music, production), shows a commitment to a singular artistic vision.

      I liked your Facebook page and followed you on Twitter, I hope we can stay in touch bud.

      -Derek

  2. Great Review!! Mitch Malloy’s album Making Noise is Top Notch indeed and Young fans around the world should take a listen. This album -while Raw in nature of lyrics- falls far from use of threatening words to convey a story therefore making it available for all types of audiences. Those of us who have been privileged enough to talk, meet and watch him Live can’t get enough Malloy yet one of Mitch’s most amazing qualities is his Unpretentious nature. This is quite a Rare finding on a Star of this caliber. Mitch is so approachable and his kind Spirit flows with a smile that glows. Malloy is wild about his fans so It’s hard not to fall in love with him and his music. MAKING NOISE is an album above and beyond its category mixing a classic Rock style that never dies. Finally; Malloy’s Enchanting looks can’t be dismissed-common’ the guy is Amazingly GORGEOUS- but what keeps us MAKING NOISE is his style in album song selections that speak so loudly to please all kind of moods -making it hard to pick a favorite- so Am proud to be one who keeps MAKING NOISE.

Leave a Reply

